Weekly Photo Challenge: Pattern

Image

Batik patterns…

Since Indonesian batik has been designated by UNESCO as a Masterpiece of Oral and Intangible Heritage of Humanity on October 2, 2009.. The batik pattern has become a trend especially amongst the Indonesian.. It is not limited to clothings, but also you can find batik pattern on almost every object.. School bags, pencil case, table cloth, photo frames, anything.. You name it πŸ™‚

I am very proud of my country’s cultural heritage..

The batik pattern is not only a pattern, but there is a philosophical meaning behind each pattern.. Of course, I’m not an expert in it, thus I won’t write any further explanation about it.. πŸ˜€

There are lots of books that explain the meaning of batik patterns, check this site for that.. πŸ™‚

Image

Above, is the picture of my daughter’s favorite batik dress.. I also love the flower pattern..

Image

And this one above is one of my favorite batik shirt.. I love the flower patterns that looks like vertical lines.. This shirt makes me look slimmer.. Hehehe..

My daughter once said to me, “Mom, you won’t fit in that shirt!”

But I did.. So yes my conclusion is that the pattern of your cloth does matter on how you will look, whether you’ll look chubbier or slimmer.. ^_^

Image

The picture below is my almost-5-year-old daughter (she’s the middle one) and her friends, before their performance at the school art competition last April.. I also love the pattern of the sarong they wear… It is the traditional costume from Aceh.

Image

18 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Pattern

  1. Thanks for introducing us to your cultural heritage. It’s really interesting and beautiful art work. Thanks again for sharing πŸ™‚

  2. Ternyata kalo postingannya berbahasa inggris, yang komeng banyak bulenya ya Mbak hhh.
    Embuh wis saya nggak paham bahasa inggris, tapi yang jelas corak dan motif batiknya sangat bagus dan elegant

Leave a Reply

